MAIN CLUB SPONSOR

www.nethergate.co.uk

CLUB SPONSORS

LMFC Blog

RADIO CAROLINE

Posted on

0 Comments

Long Melford FC President Richard Kemp writes about the link between the club and Radio Caroline...

Having grown up in the era of pirate radio stations, instead of John Humphreys (now retired) on the radio from 6am, I have switched to the lighter menu of Radio Caroline. Much of the content is lightweight I know, but who in this current situation wants a permanent diet of doom and gloom?

At 7am to 9am a chap called John Paul (probably Fred Bloggs in reality) is on broadcasting from Los Angeles. This morning he told of the story of when walking his dog in the woods nearby to LA, from a distance he saw  a “ sheet like ghost”. As he got closer he realised what was going on, a chap sitting in a barber's chair, with usual sheet round him, a barber busy with clippers and a person waiting to be next for a haircut. Could it catch on here?   

The connection with Radio Caroline for me and LMFC is that the Annual Gala at LMFC in 1964 as the Hon Sec of the Gala, I booked in a special guest from Radio Caroline, DJ Jon Sydney (yes you have guessed he was Australian) to open the gala.

He was met at Sudbury Railway Station by “Taff” Bulmer the only one with a car, who dined with him at Long Melford Crown, and after the event was returned to Sudbury Railway Station. to get him back to Caroline. The usual profit for the Gala was circa 1000 pounds for LMFC.   RK

Add a comment:

Leave a comment:

Comments

Add a comment
WEBSITE SPONSOR

www.centrasecurity.co.uk

LATEST NEWS

Sat 10 Apr 2021

IN-HOUSE FRIENDLY

5 x 170

Wed 24 Mar 2021

CLUBHOUSE UPDATE

5 x 170

Sat 20 Mar 2021

COACH WANTED

5 x 170

Sat 13 Mar 2021

CLUBHOUSE VISUALS

5 x 170

Sun 07 Mar 2021

PITCH UPDATE

5 x 170

Thu 25 Feb 2021

SEASON CURTAILED

5 x 170

Tue 26 Jan 2021

PRESIDENT'S VIEW

5 x 170

Sat 05 Dec 2020

NEW APPOINTMENT

5 x 170

Sat 31 Oct 2020

RESERVES REPORT

5 x 170

Wed 28 Oct 2020

LONG MELFORD 2 HADLEIGH UTD 2

5 x 170

Sat 24 Oct 2020

THETFORD TOWN 0 LONG MELFORD 2

5 x 170

Sat 26 Sep 2020

COVID INFO