MAIN CLUB SPONSOR

www.nethergate.co.uk

CLUB SPONSORS

LMFC Blog

VIEW FROM THE EDITOR

Posted on

0 Comments

Last week there was good progress made in the Cup competitions as the 1st Team reached the quarter finals of the Suffolk Senior Cup and the Reserves qualified for the semi-finals of the Chell Trophy, which sets up two big games to look forward to in early 2013…the 1st Team are at home to Crane Sports (12th January) and Reserves home v Walsham-le-Willows (5th February).

On Saturday the 1st Team lost 2-1 at Saffron Walden Town, a good game to watch considering the difficult conditions but the injury to Walden keeper Paul Wood (who made 118 appearances for Melford) overshadowed the match and we all wish Woodsie well for his recovery.

It was a deserved win for Walden who had the better of the play and chances. But nevertheless another good battling display by Melford who were solid defensively and dealt well with a lot of aerial balls in the box from corners and Joe Rudkin’s unbelievable long throws, probably the best long throw I’ve ever seen; not just long but flat and fast too.

It’s not a very experienced 1st Team at the moment, using Saturday’s squad as an example I’d say 11 of the 14 players have played most of their football at a lower level. But although Melford are in the bottom three, the majority of matches this season have been closely fought with only CUP, Newmarket and Braintree beating Melford by more than one goal in the league this season. Which suggests the players who have stepped up from the Reserves, U18s and local leagues have done very well and are holding their own against most sides in the division.

Making an impressive debut for Melford on Saturday was Luke Cresswell, who stood for election as a Labour candidate last year in Sudbury, so it was appropriate that he played on the left wing!

The Reserves came from behind to draw 1-1 at home to Saffron Walden’s second string and now have a two-week break from action before playing Halstead Town at Stoneylands on Saturday 8th December.

The Ladies’ match against Bacton United was postponed due to a waterlogged pitch, their next fixture is away to Ransomes Sports on Sunday 2nd December.

The next match at Stoneylands is the U18’s home game against Hadleigh United on Wednesday, followed by the 1st Team at home to Braintree Town Reserves on Saturday.

Add a comment:

Leave a comment:

Comments

Add a comment
WEBSITE SPONSOR

www.centrasecurity.co.uk

LATEST NEWS

Fri 14 May 2021

FANS WELCOME

5 x 170

Wed 12 May 2021

CLUBHOUSE NEWS

5 x 170

Sun 09 May 2021

RESERVES UPDATE

5 x 170

Fri 30 Apr 2021

UNDER 18 TRIALS

5 x 170

Fri 30 Apr 2021

NEW APPOINTMENT

5 x 170

Thu 29 Apr 2021

LEAGUE START DATE

5 x 170

Mon 19 Apr 2021

NEW SPONSOR

5 x 170

Tue 13 Apr 2021

NLS RESTRUCTURE

5 x 170

Sat 10 Apr 2021

IN-HOUSE FRIENDLY

5 x 170

Thu 25 Feb 2021

SEASON CURTAILED

5 x 170

Tue 26 Jan 2021

PRESIDENT'S VIEW

5 x 170

Sat 31 Oct 2020

RESERVES REPORT

5 x 170

Wed 28 Oct 2020

LONG MELFORD 2 HADLEIGH UTD 2

5 x 170

Sat 24 Oct 2020

THETFORD TOWN 0 LONG MELFORD 2

5 x 170

Sat 26 Sep 2020

COVID INFO