MAIN CLUB SPONSOR

www.nethergate.co.uk

CLUB SPONSORS

Match Report v Kirkley & Pakefield (h)

LONG MELFORD  1  KIRKLEY & PAKEFIELD  1

(4-3 ON PENALTIES, SUFFOLK PREMIER CUP, 07 OCT.)

This county cup tie was dominated by Melford from start to finish, against a Kirkley team consisting of mainly Youth players with a sprinkling of first team regulars. 

The visitors have their young custodian Denham Oliver to thank for a string of second half saves that kept Melford at bay until the last few minutes.

In truth Melford created chance after chance, playing some attractive football but with no one able to find the net. 

This continued into the second half some dazzling football from Melford but no finish to all their efforts. 

Keeper Oliver made a string of goal line saves in the second half, one Melford effort looked well over the line, but VAR does not exist at this level. 

Then is often the case with really the first Kirkley shot on goal after the 54th minute JACK HERBERT put the visitors ahead. 

The heroics continued from keeper Oliver, making several superb saves.

After several poor challenges on Jamie Griffiths, Kirkley full back Jack Coleman was sent off with a second yellow card on 81 minutes. 

On 85 minutes WILL WINGFIELD converted from the spot for Melford and then onto the penalty shoot out which Melford won 4-3.

A well deserved win for Melford but the young Kirkley team showed plucky resistance. CHENOBERET

LONG MELFORD: Matt Walker, Kieran Michaels, Will Wingfield, Archie Pether (83), Ross Waugh, Sam Mills, Dan Swain, Jacob Brown, Ben Tait, Jamie Griffiths, Callum Hemson (72)

Subs used: Jake Jackson (83), Dan Smith (72) 

Subs not used: Kyle Hurley, Josh Collins, Finlay Shorten  

Attendance: 82

Long Melford penalties: Jamie Griffiths (saved), Sam Mills (scored), Dan Swain (scored), Kieran Michaels (scored), Will Wingfield (scored)

(First Kirkley penalty hit the bar, second penalty saved by Matt Walker)

WEBSITE SPONSOR

www.centrasecurity.co.uk

LATEST NEWS

Fri 14 May 2021

FANS WELCOME

5 x 170

Wed 12 May 2021

CLUBHOUSE NEWS

5 x 170

Sun 09 May 2021

RESERVES UPDATE

5 x 170

Fri 30 Apr 2021

UNDER 18 TRIALS

5 x 170

Fri 30 Apr 2021

NEW APPOINTMENT

5 x 170

Thu 29 Apr 2021

LEAGUE START DATE

5 x 170

Mon 19 Apr 2021

NEW SPONSOR

5 x 170

Tue 13 Apr 2021

NLS RESTRUCTURE

5 x 170

Sat 10 Apr 2021

IN-HOUSE FRIENDLY

5 x 170

Thu 25 Feb 2021

SEASON CURTAILED

5 x 170

Tue 26 Jan 2021

PRESIDENT'S VIEW

5 x 170

Sat 31 Oct 2020

RESERVES REPORT

5 x 170

Wed 28 Oct 2020

LONG MELFORD 2 HADLEIGH UTD 2

5 x 170

Sat 24 Oct 2020

THETFORD TOWN 0 LONG MELFORD 2

5 x 170

Sat 26 Sep 2020

COVID INFO