MAIN CLUB SPONSOR

www.nethergate.co.uk

CLUB SPONSORS

Match Report v Wroxham (a)

Wroxham 0 - 1 Long Melford

Thurlow Nunn Premier Division - Saturday 30 December - Att: 148

PICTURED: Nathan Rowe after passing 150 matches for the club on Boxing Day, scored the winner in Norfolk today.

Melford made the long journey to Wroxham minus several regulars including captain and top scorer Steve Adams, Dan Smith, Scott Sloots, Dan Swain and Ashley Sloots.

Two recent signings David Lopez (from Wivenhoe Town) and Sam Newton (from Cornard United) were included in the squad for the first time. 

Match report from Richard Powell:

The pitch passed a second inspection at 11.00 am and looked good at the kick off but was obviously going to cut up during the match.

Melford started well and the first real chance fell to Will Wingfield, with Wroxham keeper George Macrae racing from his goal to get down and save with his body outside the box.

Robbie Sweeney was prominent for Wroxham but the Melford back four were very solid all day.

Melford lost Elliot Walker to a calf injury and Spaniard David Lopez came on in his stead and was soon working hard in midfield.

Melford broke swiftly at the start of he second half and the keeper Macrae saved well from Ben Judge. 

The visitors then had three corners in succession and from the third NATHAN ROWE was flattened and got up to convert from the spot.

The rest of the half saw Wroxham throw everything at Melford who defended superbly and with some very tired legs. 

In such a tremendous performance it would be invidious to pick a Man of the Match, suffice to say everybody did their bit.

MELFORD: Darren Moyes, Jake Jackson, Ross Waugh, Anthony Waugh, Josh Collins, Hassan Ally, Ben Judge, Will Wingfield, Nathan Rowe, Elliot Walker, Callum Hemson

Subs used: David Lopez (for Walker), Sam Newton (for Hemson)

Subs not used: Josh Shepherd, Jamie Bradbury

  • Melford finish 2017 in 16th position after today's win - next match is at home to league leaders Felixstowe next Saturday (6th January).

WEBSITE SPONSOR

www.centrasecurity.co.uk

LATEST NEWS

Sat 10 Apr 2021

IN-HOUSE FRIENDLY

5 x 170

Wed 24 Mar 2021

CLUBHOUSE UPDATE

5 x 170

Sat 20 Mar 2021

COACH WANTED

5 x 170

Sat 13 Mar 2021

CLUBHOUSE VISUALS

5 x 170

Sun 07 Mar 2021

PITCH UPDATE

5 x 170

Thu 25 Feb 2021

SEASON CURTAILED

5 x 170

Tue 26 Jan 2021

PRESIDENT'S VIEW

5 x 170

Sat 05 Dec 2020

NEW APPOINTMENT

5 x 170

Sat 31 Oct 2020

RESERVES REPORT

5 x 170

Wed 28 Oct 2020

LONG MELFORD 2 HADLEIGH UTD 2

5 x 170

Sat 24 Oct 2020

THETFORD TOWN 0 LONG MELFORD 2

5 x 170

Sat 26 Sep 2020

COVID INFO